The Commissioner for Public Appointments

Twitter RSS

Appointments Committee Biographies

Dame Anne Pringle

After 35 years as a career diplomat, Anne has taken on several public and private sector roles. Anne is a non Executive Director on the board of Ashmore Group plc. She is the Government’s Special Representative on Deportation with Assurances and a Public Appointments Assessor. Anne is a member of the Foreign Secretary’s advisory Locarno Group and also sits on the Court of St Andrews University.

In her career with the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, Anne was Ambassador to Russia from 2008-2011, Director for Strategy in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and a member of the FCO Board from 2004-2007 and Ambassador to the Czech Republic from 2001-04.

Dr Chitra Bharucha

Chitra is a former Deputy Director, Northern Ireland Blood Transfusion Service and Consultant Clinical Haematologist, Belfast City Hospital (1981 -2000) and a current Trustee of Marie Curie Cancer Care. She was elected to the General Medical Council (1999 -2003) and continues to Chair Panels which decide on the fitness of doctors to practice medicine.

Her previous roles include:- Vice Chairman, BBC Trust (2006 -2010) and Acting Chairman in 2007, BBC Broadcasting Council for Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland Member of the Independent Television Commission, Chairman of the Advisory Committee on Animal Feedingstuffs for the Food Standards Agency (awarded MBE for services), Board member Advertising Standards Authority, Lay member for Judicial Complaints, and international and national professional Councils and Committees.

Elizabeth France

Elizabeth France is Chair of the Security Industry Authority, a role she takes on as she completes her term as Chair of the Office for Legal Complaints. Elizabeth France is also a Member of the British Transport Police Authority; Vice President of Aberystwyth University and a member of the General Assembly of Manchester University.

From July 2010 until July 2013 she was Chair of the UK Public Affairs Council.

Elizabeth began her career in the Home Office in 1971, resigning to become the Data Protection Registrar in September 1994 and becoming Information Commissioner in January 2001. She was Chief Ombudsman and Chief Executive of Ombudsman Services Ltd, which provides ombudsman schemes for telecommunications, energy and surveyors, between 2002 and 2009. She was a Non Executive Director of the Serious Organised Crime Agency from 2005-2010.

Elizabeth has been awarded honorary doctorates by the Universities of De Montfort, Loughborough and Bradford and is a Fellow of Aberystwyth University. In June 2002 she was awarded a CBE for services to data protection.

Andrew Flanagan

Andrew has been part of the Scottish Media Group for over 12 years, first as the Finance Director and then as Chief Executive. More recently he was the Chief Executive of the NSPCC, the child protection charity, until March 2013.  A chartered accountant by profession, Andrew has also worked for various American and European telecoms and accounting companies. Andrew qualified as a Bachelor of Accountancy at Glasgow University and then qualified at the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland. He has also held a number of non executive roles including Chairman of the Heritage House Group and as a non executive director for Phonepay Plus and the Scottish Rugby Union. Andrew is currently a Civil Service Commissioner.