Skip to main content

Regulated Bodies

The Commissioner for Public Appointments regulates appointments to over 300 public bodies.

The number of regulated bodies sponsored by each Department is as follows:

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport – 41 public bodies.

Ministry of Justice – 35 public bodies, including regional voluntary justice bodies such as the independent monitoring boards

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy – 31 public bodies

Department of Health, and Social Care – 25 public bodies including NHS Improvement, with a Public Appointments team overseeing appointments to 100s of NHS trustsp>

Home Office – 25 public bodies

Department for Education – 20 public bodies

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs – 19 public bodies

Department for Transport – 17 public bodies

Department for Work and Pensions – 11 public bodies

Cabinet Office – 11 public bodies

Ministry of Defence – 11 public bodies

Ministry of Housing, Communities, and Local Government – 9 public bodies

Her Majesty’s Treasury – 6 public bodies

Northern Ireland Office – 5 public bodies

Department for International Development – 3 public bodies

Foreign and Commonwealth Office – 3 public bodies

Department for International Trade – 1 public body

UK Export Finance – 1 public body

Scotland Office – 1 public body

Attorney General’s Office – 1 public body